Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image





Tri County range judging teams placed first and second to win the Area 6 Range Contest Senior Division on Wednesday, September 18th.  The competition was held in Saline County, Nebraska and was hosted by the Lower Big Blue Natural Resources District. The top 25% of the contestants earned individual ribbons.

Senior Alexx Malchow placed third individually and teamed up with Jauques vanZyl, Logan Larson and Lucas Weise to win the overall championship and senior division championship.  Each ag education student earned a purple team ribbon and a purple rosette. There were 14 schools from southeast Nebraska competing. Hannah Holtmeier, Cole Siems, Landen Chapman and Drew Garrison finished as team runner-up and earned blue team ribbons.  Individual ribbons went to Alexx Malchow, 3rd red ribbon; Logan Larson, 8th; Jauques vanZyl, 10th; Lucas Weise, Hannah Holtmeier, Cole siems, Landen Chapman, Drew Garrison and Ella Crawford. Diller-Odell claimed the third place team award with Ashtyn Humphreys winning second place individually. 

In the Junior Division Tri County placed four individuals in the top eleven to finish in third place and earn team red ribbons.  Team members were Brevin Damrow, Nick Loxterkamp, Kanin Baker and Gavin Weichel. Each member ribboned individually. Norris won the Junior Division with Deshler claiming second.  Mr. Dave Barnard is the Tri County Ag Education Instructor.

The students identified plants from a list of over 125, evaluated three sites for type, condition and degree of use and competed a range management quiz.  The 

contestants also evaluated a grazing scenario and made recommendations.  Other schools at the contest were Auburn, Aurora, Norris, Nebraska City, Sandy Creek, Diller-Odell, Deshler, Sutton, Milford, Lawrence-Nelson, Lewiston and Milford.