Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image





At the 94th Nebraska State FFA Convention held April 6-8, the Tri County FFA Chapter was announced by the State FFA Association as the number one rated FFA Chapter in the state for 2021-2022.  The ranking was an accumulation of activities in the National FFA Chapter Awards program.

FFA Chapters are ranked in three categories.  They are Building Communities, Growing Leaders and Strengthening Agriculture.  The three areas are combined for the overall ranking.  The local membership placed first in Strengthening Agriculture and Building Communities.  Tri County placed second in the state in Growing Leaders.  The FFA earned three plaques.  The member’s application will be forwarded to the National FFA for consideration and announced in October at the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, IN. There are 203 FFA Chapters and over 10,000 members in Nebraska.



The 94th Nebraska State FFA Convention was held in Lincoln at Pinnacle Bank Arena  (PBA) and surrounding hotels on April 6-8th.  Tri County was well presented and received recognition in several areas.  

Members Emily Thavenet and Kinsley Fletcher received the “Governor's Excellence Award” from Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts on Thursday.  The Chapter earned a banner and $1500.00 from the Nebraska Investment Foundation Authority.  Chapter Officer Gracin Hahn performed in the State Honor Choir during the convention and had several solo parts.  Two Chapter members competed in the state proficiency competition.  Senior Gavin Weichel won the Diversified Crop Production Area and received a plaque and monetary award.  His application will be forwarded to national competition.  Caden Kapke placed third in Swine Placement.  Caden received a plaque and money.

Six members earned their State FFA Degree on Friday night at PBA. Seniors Nick Loxterkamp, Emerson Schultis, Brevin Damrow, Gavin Weichel, Gracin Hahn and Emily Thavenet received their gold pins.  Vice-President Weichel was one of eight finalists for the Nebraska FFA Star Farmer.  Gavin received a plaque but was not chosen for this high award.

Kenzie Strein accepted recognition on stage from the Farm Bureau for the chapter’s involvement in the “Connecting Chapters” Ag Literacy.  Henry Holtmeier came home with the second place gold medal in Ag Literacy public speaking.  Sydney Brauer earned a silver medal in Ag Discovery Public Speaking.  Both students received their awards on stage at PBA.  The junior high Ag Quiz Bowl teams competed at state.  Students in this area included Zac Strein, Isabella Peters, Henry Holtmeier, Sydney Brauer, Cobi Bales, Kennadee VanWinkle, Sam Holsing, Kaden Koch and Garrett Smidt.  Sophomores Kaden VanWinkle and Ellie Peters served the chapter as voting delegates.